## MINUTES AUBURN COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT #10 606 W. North Street Auburn IL April 26, 2023 REGULAR MEETING District Office 7:00 pm

The following members answered roll call at the regular meeting of the Auburn Board of Education on April 26, 2023: Present: John Megginson, Carl Kessler, Brad Smith, Jamie Kuhlmann, Matt Kern (left 8:33 pm), Josh Smith, and Michael Bates. Also present were Darren Root, Nathan Essex, Dave Bates, Christy Bailey, Matt Grimm, Amy Donaldson. Present: Jeff Miller, Seth McCoy, Sandy Jones, Missy Miller, Sandy Parrish, Ken Reedy, Melinda Marques, Autumn Litteken, Mackenzie Kesinger, Aliya Bowe, Erin Bidleman and Ruby Howard, secretary to the board.

Kessler moved to adopt the amended agenda. J. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlmann	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Recognition

- Retiring Board Member John Megginson
- Blackburn's Science Day HS 2nd Place
- Blackburn's Science Day Aliya Rowe 2nd place in Biology \$1000 Blackburn scholarship
- Academic Challenge
- HS 7th Place
- Biology 3rd Place Isabella Hart
- English 3rd Place Lillian Waghorn
- Advanced to State Isabella Hart, Lillian Waghorn and Ben Warwick
- JH Scholastic Bowl
- Spring Sports

## Spotlight

Kindergarten - Tomorrows Teacher

School Board Election Results.

- Carl Kessler 384
- Brad Smith 361
- Jeff Miller 361

Megginson proclaimed Carl Kessler, Brad Smith, and Jeff Miller winners, each with four-year terms.

President Pro Tempore appointed - John Megginson

Brad Smith, Carl Kessler, and Jeff Miller took oath of office.

Kessler made a motion for two-year terms for elected Board officers except treasurer, which will be a one-year term. J. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous and the President declared the motion carried.

Kern moved to nominate Carl Kessler for Board President. With no other nominations, the President Pro Tem declared the nominations closed. The vote was unanimous and the President Pro Tem declared Carl Kessler President by acclamation.

Kessler moved to nominate Jamie Kuhlmann for Board Vice-President. Kern moved to nominate Brad Smith. With no other nominations, the President Pro Tem declared the nominations closed. The vote was 4-3 and the President Pro Tem declared Jamie Kuhlmann Vice-President.

Bates moved to nominate Jeff Miller for Board Secretary. With no other nominations, the President Pro Tem declared the nominations closed. The vote was unanimous and the President Pro Tem declared Jeff Miller Secretary by acclamation.

Carl Kessler moved to nominate Josh Smith for Board Treasurer. With no other nominations, the President Pro Tem declared the nominations closed. The voting was unanimous and the President Pro Tem declared Josh Smith Treasurer.

J. Smith moved to adopt the schedule of meeting dates and times as presented. Bates seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous and the President declared the motion carried.

Kern moved to go into Closed Session at 7:28 pm. B. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlmann	vea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Board came out of Closed Session at 8:18 pm.

J. Smith moved to employ AD Secretary as Jessica Petefish and set salary \$19.76/hr. Kuhlmann seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Megginson	yea
Kern	nay	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlmann	yea		

There being 6 "yeas", 1 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Kuhlmann moved to approve consent agenda items which consisted of:

- Approved Minutes of Regular Board Meeting 3/15/2023
- Approved Minutes of Special Board Meeting 3/31/2023

- Approved Minutes of Special Board Meeting 4/12/2023
- Approve Closed Session and Seal of Meeting 4/12/2023
- Approved SASED Action Items
- Approved School District Accounts Payable / Payroll
- Approved School Activity Accounts Payable
- Approved Monthly Financial Report
- Approved Monthly Activity Accounts Report
- Approved System of Dismissal List
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 2:110 Qualifications, Term, and Duties of Board Officers
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 3:40 Superintendent
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 4:60 Purchases and Contracts
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:30 Hiring Process and Criteria
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:90 Abused and Neglected Child Reporting
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:125 Personal Technology and Social Media; Usage and Conduct
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:150 Personnel Records
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:170 Copyright
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 5:260 Student Teachers
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 6:135 Accelerated Placement Program
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 6:230 Library Media Program
- Approved First Reading of Board Policy 8:20 Community Use of School Facilities
- Accepted Resignation of HS Cook Vickie DuBois
- Employed MS Special Education Teacher Breanna Koen
- Approved Band Uniform Bid DeMoulin Brothers & Company
- Employed Cheerleading Coach Teri Waganer
- Accepted Resignation of HS Language Arts Teacher Courtney Murphy
- Approved the Directive for ES Electronic Equipment Disposition
- Directive Given to Dispose of Old School Equipment
- Permission Given to Seek Athletic Entrance / Fence Bids
- Accepted Resignation of 8th Grade Science Teacher Alethea Dowson

J. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	yea	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlmann	yea		

There being 7 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

## Superintendent Report

District Updates

- District Updates
- Cash Flow Analysis
- Levy Extension
- Field Entrance

B. Smith moved to approve ROCTE Intergovernmental Agreement. Bates seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 6 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

B. Smith moved to approve CACC Intergovernmental Agreement. Miller seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 6 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Kuhlmann moved to approve Administrators' Contracts and Set FY24 salaries. J. Smith seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	yea	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlman	yea		

There being 6 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

Kessler moved to adjourn at 8:46 pm. Kuhlmann seconded the motion. The voting was as follows:

Bates	yea	Miller	yea
Kern	absent	B. Smith	yea
Kessler	уеа	J. Smith	yea
Kuhlman	уеа		

There being 6 "yeas", 0 "nays", the president declared the motion carried.

## Auburn Community School District #10 Auburn, IL 62615

President

Secretary